Annexure One

Drainage Basins of Kolkata Metropolitan Area (KMA):

Existing Drainage: Based on the recommendations given in the greater Calcutta Master Drainage Plan 1953 for the east bank areas of Hugli river and the proposals of Irrigation & Waterways Department, Govt. of West Bengal for the West Bank areas of Hugli river, the drainage proposals of previous Master Plan (1966-2001), present topography and land use pattern and outfall system of the proposed catchment areas are divided into 25 (twenty five) nos. of drainage basins within KMA. The Kolkata Metropolitan Area has a detailed existing Drainage network, though the system is too old. There are various Drainage Basins, canals, channels, etc. for easy disposal of the same. There exist 25 nos. of Drainage basins as mentioned below.

Drainage Basins (25 Nos.) East Bank (18 Nos.) West Bank (7 Nos.) Bager, Nowai, Ichapur, Khardah, Bagjola, Sunti, Kolkata, Northern Salt Lake, Manicktola, Boinchita, Southern Salt Lake Tollygunge-Panchannagram, Tolly's Nullah Monikhali, Churial, Keorapukur, Mograhat, Sonarpur-Arapanch. North West Reparian, Ghia-Kunti, Dankuni, Konnagar, Howrah, Barajola, Rajapur

Sewerage Zones of Kolkata Metropolitan Area (KMA):

Existing Sewerage: Based on the recommendation of the sewerage proposals of previous Master Plan (1966-2001), existing & proposed water supply facilities, topography of the command area, locational advantageous for present & future land use patterns and available facilities of water bodies for discharge of treated effluents on the entire metropolitan area of KMA, have been divided into 20 nos. of sewerage zones. These sewerage zones are as follows:

Sewerage Zones (20 Nos.) East Bank (14 Nos.) West Bank (6 Nos.) Kalyani, Bhatpara, Barrackpur, Titagarh, Khardah, Barasat, Dum Dum, Manicktala, Salt Lake, Kolkata Tollygunge, Rajpur, Garden Reach, Budge Budge Bansberia, Chandannagar, Serampur, Konnagar, Howrah, Uluberia

The sewerage zones of Kolkata Metropolitan Area (KMA) have been phased as per the recommendations of previous Master Plan (1966 - 2001). The existing sewerage system or KMA is divided into 20 Sewerage Zones. The KMA is dealing with its sewerage network for more than a century though there are instances of sewerage congestion due to weak O&M practices. There are various sewerage systems like Kolkata combined sewerage system, Bhatpara municipal sewerage system, Titagarh municipal sewerage system etc., which are many decades old.

jnnurm.nic.in/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Kolkata_CH-I50-123.pdf